national Rally to Honor Late Chief MKO Abiola on June 12

The Patriots, a distinguished group of thought leaders, will host a national rally in Lagos on June 12 in collaboration with the June 12 Pro Democracy Movement of Nigeria in honor of the late Chief MKO Abiola. Prof. Anthony Kila, Chairman of the Local Organising Committee (LOC) for the June 12 Democracy Day Celebration 2024, announced this in a statement on Sunday in Lagos.

The rally, themed “Securing the Future of Nigeria through a Democratic People’s Constitution,” aims to advocate for a people’s constitution in Nigeria. The National Democracy Day Rendezvous will take place at the Conference & Exhibition Centre of the Lagos Chamber of Commerce and Industry (LCCI), Alausa, Ikeja, at 10:00 am on Wednesday.

VERIFIED: Nigerians can now earn US Dollars with premium domains just like Americans, acquire for as low as $1200 and you profit $19000 (₦23million). Click here to start.

The event will be chaired by Chief Emeka Anyaoku, a former Secretary General of the Commonwealth and the Chairman of the Patriots. Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu of Lagos State is expected to address June 12 stakeholders and activists at the rally.

Among those invited to deliver goodwill messages are former Vice-President Atiku Abubakar, the 2023 Presidential Candidates of the Labour Party (LP) and the New Nigeria People’s Party (NNPP), Mr. Peter Obi and Dr. Rabiu Musa Kwakwanso, respectively.

Dr. Olisa Agbakoba (SAN), Prof. Attahiru Jega, and Sen. Shehu Sanni will lead the anniversary conversation on “securing the future of Nigeria through a democratic constitution reform process.”

Nobel Laureate Prof. Wole Soyinka, initially scheduled to provide the keynote address, will be replaced by former Governor of Ekiti State, Dr. Kayode Fayemi, and former Military Governor of Kaduna State and June 12 Activist, Col. Umar Dangiwa, due to pressing engagements. They will pioneer broad interventions on the anniversary.

Leading pro-democracy stakeholders and activists invited to discuss the keynote submissions include Prof. Pat Utomi, Mr. Femi Falana (SAN), Dr. Oby Ezekwesili, Prof. Jibrin Ibrahim, and Amb. Nkoyo Toyo, among others.

A roll call of honors for nominated heroes and heroines of Nigeria’s current democratic rule will be conducted by the conveners at the historic event. The anniversary will conclude with a colorful motorcade procession from the rally venue to the residence of Chief MKO Abiola in Ikeja, Lagos. There, prayers for the repose of the souls of departed heroes and heroines of democracy, tributes, and the annual wreath-laying ceremony will be jointly conducted with members of the MKO Abiola family.