The Senate and the House of Representatives are set to come together on Wednesday, May 29, for a joint session to commemorate 25 years of continuous democracy in Nigeria.

This session, a unique event since the restoration of democracy in 1999, will include presentations by distinguished Nigerians, such as former military Head of State, Gen Abdulsalami Abubakar (retd).

VERIFIED: Nigerians can now earn US Dollars with premium domains just like Americans, acquire for as low as $1200 and you profit $19000 (₦23million). Click here to start.

Fmr Military Head of State, General Abdusalami Abubakar(retd)

The two legislative chambers usually convene solely during the President’s annual budget presentations.

Through a statement that was released on Monday night by the National Assembly management, President Bola Ahmed Tinubu is anticipated to give a speech during the joint session.

Furthermore, the President is scheduled to officially open the new National Assembly Library as part of the activities planned for the 25th-year anniversary celebration.

The event is also set to be graced by the presence of the Vice President, Kashim Shettima, alongside other notable dignitaries expected to attend are the Chairman of the Nigeria Governors’ Forum and Governor of Kwara State, Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq; the Chairman of the Progressives Governors’ Forum and Governor of Imo State, Hope Uzodinma; the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, George Akume, and the Chief of Staff to the President, Rt. Femi Gbajabiamila.

Other notable figures expected at the event include the Minister of the Federal Capital Territory, Nyesom Wike; the Clerk to the National Assembly, Magaji Tambuwal; the Senior Special Assistants to the President for both the Senate and the House, among others.

The statement mentioned that there will be special lectures on the topic “25 years of the National Assembly: Lessons and Opportunities” during the joint sitting.

During the event, Gbajabiamila, who previously served as the Speaker of the 9th House (2019-2023), will present a paper titled ‘Reflections on the House’, while Senator David Mark, who was the President of the 6th and 7th Senate (2007-2015), will discuss ‘Reflections on the Senate.’